top of page

A leader? ME?

More than ever, teachers are asked to work in teams. I remember being in school (not THAT long ago -- the '90s) and what happened in my 3rd grade classroom (for example) was totally different than what happened in the 3rd grade classroom next door. Everything from instructional routines to projects and assessments were totally teacher-created.

In today's schools, though, teachers work together to create these things. In fact, in most schools, it's expected that teams will work together to create curriculum, design assessments and even deliver daily instruction.

Sounds great, doesn't it? It is! But ... what do you do when team members "fall flat"?

Sometimes, teacher leaders are thrown into their leadership positions because ... nobody else is picking up the slack. SOMEBODY has to make the big decisions, pick a direction for the team, and encourage others to do better and be better.

But how? I'll tell you, I've been in this position, and it is not an easy one. I have always been lucky to work with teams full of great people. They're fun, they love what they do ... but sometimes, that's not enough. Sometimes you need one teammate to jump right in and lead the team to glory.

Well, not really. It's elementary school, after all. Not Braveheart.

But you DO need somebody to take the team from "Where are we ordering lunch?" to "How are we best meeting the needs of our kids?"

It's a hard question to answer. Made harder by the idea that some leaders don't even KNOW that they are just that -- leaders! I have definitely been in that position. A leader? Me?

Susan Lucille Davis outlines her ideas of what teacher leaders do. I loved this blog entry so much, and one thing I realized as I read it was this: it is HARD to do all of these things at the same time! Teacher leaders, says Davis, are those who a) feel a sense of purpose each day, b) focus on student learning, c) listen to and learn from others -- especially their own students, d) take risks, e) nourish their own selves in order to bring their best each day, f) share their ideas and stories from the classroom.

I'd do a lot more yoga if yoga on the beach was an option.

Do you see a little bit of yourself in these criteria? I know I focus everything I do on student learning and optimizing my students' experience in Room 202. I learn something new every day from somebody in my classroom, and I know my purpose in life is to be the best I can be each day in that classroom. I struggle with e. I get so wrapped up in everything I am committed to: teaching, tutoring for Title III, my grad school classes, after school rehearsals, and planning the most perfect educational experiences. I look up once in a while and realize that I haven't gone to the gym in weeks. I am so eager to get to school early that I'll run to McDonald's at lunch instead of packing myself a lunch. I wake up at 4 am onI performance days to get to school by 6. While I recognize that I need to do better (as much as I hate the gym, I am a much happier person when I've made myself move. I feel happier in my body after a good yoga session.)

Where do you struggle? How do you bring your best as a leader each day? How can you do better? Let me know in the comments!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page